Skip to content

Supernatural: The Perfect Rebound

March 2, 2012

I’m currently doing what I always do when I breakup with someone: I replace my old boyfriend with a new one. This time, I’ve actually replaced him with two boys. Their names? Sam and Dean Wincester.

Since I’m now a spinster and therefore have nothing but spare time and energy, I’ve decided to dive headfirst into Supernatural with the passion and dedication most people normally reserve for their career or husband. I watched the first season and part of the second years ago, but got too distracted by other things to continue — and boy, am I glad! If I didn’t have Supernatural to get me through these lonely nights (and days), I don’t know what I would do. Well, probably leave the apartment more, hang out with my friends, take up a hobby. Whatever.

But even though I haven’t kept up with the series over the past few years, it’s always been an obsession of mine. It helps that one of my favorite things is talking about stuff I don’t really know. I once even convinced my friend Sarah that I’d seen the first season of Cougar Town for an entire year and would have in-depth conversations with her about it.

When it came to Wincest, at least, I did my research — literally. Last year, I wrote a ten page essay on it for a soc class (aced it, by the way).

Used this bad boy in my paper.

Now, I’m just so happy that I can finally be fully immersed in the Wincest subculture. Their homoerotic relationship really puts the bro in bromace and I am loving it! Supernatural‘s reflexivity towards the gay demon hunting brothers adds the perfect lighthearted balance to how fucking terrifying the show is.

I’m a notorious pussy when it comes to anything even slightly scary and Supernatural can get pretty intense — especially when you’re home alone on a Saturday night and the lightbulb in your room goes out in the middle of a crucial scene. No need to say, I flipped my shit. But Sam and Dean’s relationship is just a delight. The way my boyfriend Dean ribs on his brother Sammy warms my heart back to life (after the paralyzing fear momentarily stops it).

Plus, I love anything remotely gay and there is nothing gayer than these dudes. Just watch this video, and my rebound obsession will make total sense to you.

Ed note: Today happens to be Jensen Ackles‘ birthday and one of the last days of Wincest week so if you haven’t already, now is the perfect time to start watching Supernatural. Do it, please. So I have someone to talk to.

Soon, you could be just like this guy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ali permalink
    August 3, 2012 12:59 am

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. January 8, 2014 6:12 am

    “Last year, I wrote a ten page essay on it for a soc class (aced it, by the way).”

    *slams both hands down on my desktop table* On behalf of the Supernatural and Wincest fandom I implore you to release this paper to the public IMMEDIATELY. I know That I’m almost two years late asking for this but for the love of God, please tell me you still have that backed up somewhere? xD I’m absolutely fascinated with the idea that anyone could write an entire paper about the subtextually homosexual and incestual relationship between two brothers and manage to ace it. Please? Pretty please? With a smidge of Destiel on top? :)

Leave a Reply

